Food Safety Training Requirements for Food Processing

Food safety training in food processing businesses - learn who requires it, how to comply and what is a properly trained Food Safety Supervisor and Food Handler.

Food safety training for food processing

food processor

If you manufacture or process foods in a factory, farm, shop or anywhere else, you and your employees need the right training to meet food safety laws.

A food processing business is any business where food is manufactured or processed, including:

  • Airline caterers
  • Wholesale bakers
  • Breweries and wine producers
  • Canneries
  • Packers
  • Producers of pre-prepared meals
  • Small scale farm and home food producers

How to comply with food safety laws

Train your Food Safety Supervisor

Most Australian food processing businesses must have at least one properly trained Food Safety Supervisor.

Apply for your business licence

See your local council to apply for your business licence to start your food processing business.

Train your Food Handlers

Not just kitchen staff, but any employee who serves, moves, delivers or cleans food or food equipment.

Be food audit ready

Keep your proof of nationally recognised food safety training nearby for food safety inspections.

Food Safety Supervisor Requirements

In VIC, QLD and ACT, it's a mandatory requirement that food processing organisations have at least one Food Safety Supervisor on their staff at all times.

This means at least one person must have:

  • undergone nationally recognised training
  • obtained the required units of competency to be recognised as a Food Safety Supervisor

NSW requirements are a little more complex

In NSW, only retail and hospitality units of competency are recognised by the NSW Food Authority.

However, many organisations that identify as being 'food processing' are required to have a Food Safety Supervisor.

To understand the specific requirements for your business, you should always clarify with the NSW Food Authority.

If you are in NSW when you complete your Food Safety Supervisor training with AIFS, you will receive:

  • your regular Statement of Attainment (for the retail or hospitality units)
  • a certificate issued by the NSW Food Authority

If you're applying for a new food business licence, you'll be asked for the certificate number from this document.

Click here to learn more about this course.

Food Handler Requirements

Federal legislation (governed by FSANZ) states that all Food Handlers must be trained in food safety.

Many people are surprised to learn that Food Handlers aren't just those employees who work in the kitchen.

A Food Handler can also be someone who:

  • Serves food to customers
  • Moves food into storage
  • Delivers food
  • Cleans equipment and utensils

Simply put, anyone that comes into contact with food or food equipment in a food business is a 'Food Handler'.

All Food Handlers require the necessary food safety training to perform this role.

The Food Handler Course offered by AIFS has been designed to meet this requirement.

Click here to learn more about this course.

Units of Competency

When you complete nationally recognised training, you are awarded a Statement of Attainment which lists the units of competency that you have obtained.

When a Health Inspector inspects your premises, they'll check that your Statement of Attainment has the correct units of competency.

Food Safety Supervisor course

After successfully completing the Food Safety Supervisor course for the food processing sector, you will be awarded the following units:

  • FBPFSY1001 Follow work procedures to maintain food safety
  • FBPFSY2001 Implement the food safety program and procedures

Food Handler course

Food Handler training is not industry specific. After successfully completing the Food Handler course you will be awarded the following unit:

  • SITXFSA001 Use hygienic practices for food safety
FBPFSY1001 Follow work procedures to maintain food safety
FBPFSY2001 Implement the food safety program and procedures

Important Information

All current units replace any expired units of competency.

The units of competency awarded by AIFS are always current, however some out-of-date websites may still refer to expired units.